SBCSkier.com Home
SBCSKIER.COM Twitter SBCSKIER Facebook

Olympic Preview & TV Schedule

Feb 4, 2014

Author: SBC Skier

The 2014 Winter Olympics kick off this Friday in Sochi, Russia, and in case you've been hiding in a snow cave for the past few years, Halfpipe and Slopestyle skiing will be making their long awaited and highly anticipated Olympic debut.

sochi, russia, olympics, winter olympics, sochi olympics, freeskiing, freeski, skiing, ski, halfpipe, slopestyle, sbc skier

Many of the athletes (particularly on the Slopestyle side of things) have already made their way to Mother Russia, where practice began yesterday on the large and in charge Slopestyle course, which consists of three elaborate and creative rail sets followed by three massive, big air competition-sized jumps.

olympics, winter olympics, sochi olympics, slopestyle course, slopestyle, halfpipe, freeskiing, freeski, skiing, ski, sbc skier

Photos from Downdays.eu

Here's a look at some photos of the Slopestyle course that have been floating around the Internet over the course of the past two days, courtesy of the athletes who've been riding it…

kaya turski, kim lamarre, canadian olympic team, olympics, winter olympics, sochi olympics, slopestyle course, slopestyle, halfpipe, freeskiing, freeski, skiing, ski, sbc skier

Canadian Slopestyle Team Members Kim Lamarre and Kaya Turski. Photo by Kaya Turski

henrik harlaut, keri herman, sochi, olympics, winter olympics, sochi olympics, russia, halfpipe, slopestyle, freeskiing, freeski, skiing, ski, sbc skier

Henrik Harlaut in the rail section of the Olympic Slopestyle course. Photo by Keri Herman

joss christensen, bobby brown, sochi, olympics, winter olympics, sochi olympics, russia, halfpipe, slopestyle, freeskiing, freeski, skiing, ski, sbc skier

Joss Christensen airs one of the jumps on the Olympic Slopestyle course. Photo by Bobby Brown

henrik harlaut, sochi, olympics, winter olympics, sochi olympics, russia, halfpipe, slopestyle, freeskiing, freeski, skiing, ski, sbc skier

The bottom jump of the Olympic Slopestyle course. Photo by Henrik Harlaut

For those of you who can't make it to Sochi, we at SBC Skier wanted to make it nice and easy for you to see when and where you can watch all of the freeski events go down on TV, so for your convenience and easy reference, here's the schedule…

Women's Ski Slopestyle Qualifiers – Tuesday, February 11th

CBC - 12:15 am PST / 3:15 am EST - 12:45 am PST / 3:45 am EST

Women's Ski Slopestyle Finals – Tuesday, February 11th

TSN - 12:55 am PST / 3:45 am EST - 2:05 am PST / 5:05 am EST
CBC - 1:00 am PST / 4:00 am EST - 2:00 am PST / 5:00 am EST
NBC - 8:00 pm (all time zones) - 11:30 pm (all time zones)

Men's Ski Slopestyle Qualifiers – Thursday, February 13th

Sportsnet - 10:10pm PST / 1:10 am EST - 12:00 am PST / 3:00 am EST
(*note that the Pacific Standard Times take place on the night of Wednesday, January 12th)

Men's Ski Slopestyle Finals – Thursday, February 13th

CBC - 1:30 am PST / 4:30 am EST - 2:45 am PST / 5:45 am EST
NBC - 8:00 pm (all time zones) - 11:30 pm (all time zones)

Men's Ski Halfpipe Qualifiers – Tuesday, February 18th

Sportsnet - 5:30 am PST / 8:30 am EST - 7:25am PST / 10:25am EST

Men's Ski Halfpipe Finals – Tuesday, February 18th

TSN - 9:25 am PST / 12:25 pm EST - 10:30 am PST / 1:30 pm EST
NBC - 8:00 pm (all time zones) - 11:30 pm (all time zones)

Women's Ski Halfpipe Qualifiers – Thursday, February 20th

Sportsnet - 6:15 am PST / 9:15 am EST - 7:45 am PST / 10:45 am EST

Women's Ski Halfpipe Finals - Thursday, February 20th

Sportsnet - 9:15 am PST / 12:15 pm EST - 10:25 am PST / 1:25 pm EST
CBC - 12:00 pm PST / 3:00 pm EST - 1:00 pm PST / 4:00 pm EST
NBC - 8:00 pm (all time zones) - 11:30 pm (all time zones)

* Note that in addition to the TV schedule, both CBC and NBC will reportedly be live streaming the events on their respective websites.

In terms of who's competing for Canada, here's another look at the first ever Canadian Olympic Freeski Team, all of whom will be proudly representing The Great White North in Sochi…

canadian olympic team, sochi, olympics, winter olympics, sochi olympics, russia, halfpipe, slopestyle, freeskiing, freeski, skiing, ski, sbc skier

Men's Halfpipe



Mike Riddle

Justin Dorey

Noah Bowman

Matt Margetts



Women's Halfpipe



Rosalind Groenewoud

Keltie Hansen

* Megan Gunning was originally scheduled to compete as well, but unfortunately had to pull out due to a knee injury. Sending you our best Megs.

Men's Slopestyle



Alex Beaulieu-Marchand



Women's Slopestyle



Kaya Turski

Dara Howell

Kim Lamarre

Yuki Tsubota

Stay tuned to SBC Skier for coverage of the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi, Russia, and on behalf of everyone at SBC Skier and Canada as a whole, good luck to all of our athletes. We're proud of you.

sochi, olympics, winter olympics, sochi olympics, russia, halfpipe, slopestyle, freeskiing, freeski, skiing, ski, sbc skier

Also be sure to check out Russian Roulette: The Skier Olympic Preview in Issue 13.3, which is now available on newsstands and in ski shops across Canada.


MOST VIEWED - NEWS

R.I.P. JP Auclair & Andreas Fransson
Oct 1, 2014
It's with heavy hearts that the staff at SBC Skier announce the untimely passing of our dear friends, JP Auclair and Andreas Fransson. In the event that you missed...
Momentum Exposure Camp's Slideshows & Edits
Aug 13, 2014
Last month, during Session 3 of Momentum Ski Camps, the third annual Exposure Photo + Film Camp took place, which saw 15 aspiring photographers and filmers make the pilgrimage to...
Momentum Session 4 Recap
Jul 31, 2014
It's time for the second to last update on Momentum Ski Camps, which came to a bitter and not so sweet end on Sunday in the home of the top ranked ski resort in North America,...
Team Simplestix Checks In After Intersection
Apr 30, 2014
Earlier this month, the 2014 Intersection films were debuted during the World Ski and Snowboard Festival . If you're unfamiliar with Intersection, it's a film competition where...
Momentum Session 3 Recap
Jul 23, 2014
Summer camp season has begun to wind down in beautiful Whistler, BC, but not before plenty of good times were had at the third of five sessions at Momentum Ski Camps . ...
[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] > » 

SBC Skier - The Latest

News
Contest: Win James Heim's...
October 22, 2014
In conjunction with Head, Mountain Hardwear and Scott, SBC Skier is pleased to offer you the...
News
Super Proof's The...
October 22, 2014
Super Proof Inc. is excited to announce that The Recruitment is now available for download on...
Video
TGR's Almost Ablaze Now...
October 21, 2014
Teton Gravity Research (TGR) announces the release of its award-winning feature length ski film...
Video
Salomon Freeski TV - CMH...
October 21, 2014
CMH Heli Skiing, the longest running heli-ski operation in the world, claims to have the best...
Video
Sherpas Cinema's Sculpted...
October 20, 2014
The Innovator, the fourth and final installment of Shepas Cinema's Sculpted in Time, escorts the...
[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] > » 
SBCSKATEBOARD SBCSURF SBCWAKEBOARD SNOWBOARD CANADA SBCKITEBOARD WINDSPORT WAKESTOCK SBC RESORT GUIDE  CONTACT ADVERTISE
SBCSkier.com Home
COPYRIGHT 2008 SBC SKIER MAGAZINE. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
NO PORTION OF THIS WEBSITE MAY BE REPRODUCED, COPIED OR REUSED IN ANYWAY WITHOUT PERMISSION FROM SBC MEDIA INC.